Gsm World

April 13, 2009

Orange Award for New Writers Announces 2009 Shortlist

Filed under: News — Tags: , — karol @ 12:13 pm

Orange Award for New Writers Announces 2009 Shortlist

The Orange Award for New Writers, launched in 2005, announces this year’s shortlist today.

Orange Prize for Fiction shortlist: 21 April 2009

Awards Ceremony: 3 June 2009

The Orange Award for New Writers, launched in 2005, announces this year’s shortlist today.

All first works of fiction, including novels, short story collections and novellas, written in English by a woman of any age or nationality and published as a book in the UK, are eligible. The emphasis of the award is on emerging talent and the evidence of future potential. The winner will receive a £10,000 bursary funded by Arts Council England which is intended to help the winning writer pursue their work with greater freedom.

The 2009 shortlist is:

Francesca Kay - An Equal Stillness

Nami Mun - Miles From Nowhere

Ann Weisgarber - The Personal History of Rachel DuPree

The judges for the 2009 Orange Award for New Writers are:

Mishal Husain (Chair), Presenter, BBC World News

Louise Jury, Chief Arts Correspondent, Evening Standard

Diana Evans, Author and winner of the inaugural Orange Award for New Writers

“We were deeply impressed by the tremendous quality of this year’s new writers,” said Mishal Husain, BBC World News presenter and Chair of judges, “it was a very competitive field and therefore an excruciating process to choose just three of the 80 books we read. The shortlist we eventually decided upon reflects the dynamism and diversity of the entries, showcasing three authors with very different voices but an outstanding talent. We believe their extraordinary novels will appeal to a wide range of readers and also inspire the writers of tomorrow.”

She continues,” We would also like to commend two other authors, Tania Hershman and CE Morgan, whose work stood out for its remarkable quality. We look forward to seeing more of their writing in the future.”

The Award was launched in 2005 in partnership with Arts Council England. Renewing their commitment to the partnership with Orange, Arts Council England has committed a further £30,000 over the next three years (£10,000 per year) for bursary awards for the winners of the Orange Award for New Writers. By offering a bursary to a novelist or short story writer for her first publication, the Arts Council is able to support the professional development of a writer at a crucial stage in her career.

Authors who have written their first work of fiction can be entered for both the Orange Prize for Fiction and the Orange Award for New Writers in any given year.

Moira Sinclair, Executive Director of Arts Council England, London said: “The Orange Award for New Writers showcases and rewards the best contemporary writing by women today. Arts Council England is delighted to continue its partnership with the Orange Prize, investing in emerging literary talent. Prize money buys freedom, as Rose Tremain said in her Orange Prize winning speech last year, and we hope that the award in 2009 will offer a new literary voice the opportunity to develop in the most favourable conditions.”

Diana Evans took the first ever Orange Award for New Writers in 2005 for her debut novel, 26A. She subsequently went on to win the Decibel Award 2006 at the British Book Awards and was shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel Award 2005. Naomi Alderman won the Orange Award for New Writers in 2006 and has since gone on to win The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (2007) for her first novel, Disobedience. Canadian writer, Karen Connelly, took the Award in 2007 for her novel, The Lizard Cage and most recently, Joanna Kavenna won the Award in 2008 for her debut novel, Inglorious.

Ian Smith, Head of Partnerships at Orange UK said, “Supporting and rewarding a new generation of fresh and emerging talent is at the heart of what Orange believes in. The ensuing success of our past winners demonstrates the importance of investing in the future of female fiction, which would not be possible were it not for our partnership with Arts Council England.”

The winner will be announced at the Orange Prize for Fiction award ceremony which will take place on 3 June 2009 in The Ballroom, Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, central London.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Powered by WordPress